Reviews

8.7
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.1
Comfort
9.1
Property location
8.0
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.3
Value
8.0

Reviews

    Thomas
    gb

    Review score

    10
    15 August 2018

    Great food, attentive service

    Clean and comfortable. Private bath was great. Food was brilliant and the service was very attentive and we were made to feel very welcome even with no Japanese language skills.
    CK
    sg

    Review score

    5.4
    16 June 2018

    Not what is cut out to be..

    There is only so much you can go for friendliness . The facilities at best rated “ dated” ..at worst... “ you got to be kidding” at that price. Private onsen in your room ... the bath was small for one let alone 4... the public onsen at best for two and very very i emphasize again in case u miss it.. very old ...can u imagine all the pple going there? Given there is also another two private 45 minutes onsen for booking but it is old....in case you think I’m bitching for no reason... i live there 7 years before.... i know my onsen for the price i pay... jpy 77k plus for 4 person n realized it does not include dinner. Read carefully on the fine print on booking.com.. i miss it.. i wanted to pay extra 7k pls yen x 4.. for dinner but they told me they couldn’t do it as there is not enough ingredients... Move on better price n deals out there...looks good on booking.com but believe me not there...but friendly staff....
    Friendly staff
    Nicolas
    se

    Review score

    9.2
    21 May 2018

    Pretty ryokan with gorgeous food

    Strong winds made the bamboo outside my window slam against it a bit.
    Staff was very friendly and helpful and could speak good English. Incredible seasonal food with new dishes every day. Their tofu was outstanding. Pretty Onsen area. Will definitely come back!
    fr

    Review score

    9.2
    10 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    luke
    it

    Review score

    9.2
    17 April 2018

    what an experience :)

    food is very good but you get a lot of tofu and a lot of sup and vegetables. BBQ with meat/Wagyu is not included. not even a litte pcs of meat in our dinner.this was a little disapointing if you see the pics on booking. we stayed only one night but for 210 Euro per person per night i expect more meat or fish.
    quiet everything. onsen atmosphere food staff. warm welcoming
    Mina
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    6 April 2018

    Wonderful

    Lovely staff, incredibly tasty kaiseki dinner, beautiful onsen.
    Elin
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    5 April 2018

    Incredible authentic stay in a beautiful location with wonderful staff

    Our garden had no view.
    The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. The food was superior quality and a real taste of Japan. They went out of their way to accomodate our vegetarian requests and even supplied mock sashimi! The Onsen was fanstasic.
    Laura
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    14 March 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    10
    26 February 2018
    Perfect. Highly recommended. The private hot spring bath is very nice and staff is very polite and welcoming
    jp

    Review score

    10
    28 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Steffi
    nz

    Review score

    8.3
    4 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    QIAN
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    31 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    cn

    Review score

    8.8
    16 October 2017

    Relaxing and fun

    Well, seems like the staff made a mistake about dinner, but we figured that out. Also, wi-fi didn't work and it was really difficult for us to commuunicate with staff members we met(except for the master). We don't know how to speak Janpanese and they didn't know how to speak English : (
    Futonn was confortable. Food was good and indoor onsen experience was superb. Master was very nice and all the staff were very kind. It was really fun to listen to the rain outside and enjoy onsen at the same time. We did enjoy the secluede time at Rikyuan. Definitely a second choice if we go back to Hakone some day.
    shulamit
    il

    Review score

    10
    11 October 2017

    Amazing japanese experience!!

    The staff are amazing!! We are vegan and told them with a special japanese note about what we can 't eat And they made us a wonderful meal!! The room was traditional and the open bath was small but really good! I highly recommend this place!!
    Gyorgy
    hu

    Review score

    5.8
    1 October 2017

    Overpriced but nice

    I think this place is extremely overpriced. We paid 500 dollars for one night for a room (with dinner and breakfast), but I couldn't figure it out what is the reason this place cost so much. The room was very basic, the private onsen belonging to the room was so small I couldn't even fit in. Although they have a two nice private onsen room - however they were booked often. There were also some road construction work outside - it's okay but for this price range you deserve some quiet room. We stayed someplace similar in Magome and paid much-much less.
    We wanted to try a traditional ryokan and as an experience this was really great. The staff was really nice. The dinner was great, too.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    12 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Leonardo
    se

    Review score

    10
    17 May 2018

    Best value for money if you look for a traditional japanese stay

    Unfortunately there was no view from the bedroom even though it had a private bath however it was the best "value for money traditional ryokan where you sleep on a futon".
    Staff were really welcoming, kind and the host speaks english. They have 2 private baths which you can book as many times as you want. They also offer an amazing shiatsu massage for an extra price. Sleeping on futon was more comfortable than I expected. Traditional dinner and breakfast is really good but you need to be prepared for traditional japanese cuisine. You will see many japanese tourists at the ryokan which is a good sign!
    Xijing
    au

    Review score

    10
    26 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Xijing
    au

    Review score

    10
    23 February 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    29 November 2017

    Not only a stay but an experience!

    This is not necessarily something I did not like but since this is more a classical Japanese location the English is limited, but don't let that hold you back from the experience!
    The room has it's own hot tub with hot spring mineral water, the service is excellent and very personal and the Japanese style breakfast is delicious.
Loading reviews